Thursday, June 11, 2009

Song of the Day - The Cure 6/11/09

How Beautiful You Are by The Cure

The Cure are an English rock band formed in Crawley, West Sussex in 1976. The band has experienced several lineup changes, with frontman, vocalist, guitarist and principal songwriter Robert Smith being the only constant member.
The Cure first began releasing music in the late 1970s with their debut album
Three Imaginary Boys (1979); this, along with several early singles, placed the band as part of the post-punk and New Wave movements that had sprung up in the wake of the punk rock revolution in the United Kingdom. During the early 1980s the band's increasingly dark and tormented music helped form the gothic rock genre. After the release of Pornography (1982), the band's future was uncertain and Smith was keen to move past the gloomy reputation his band had acquired. With the 1982 single "Let's Go to Bed" Smith began to inject more of a pop sensibility into the band's music. The Cure's popularity increased as the decade wore on, especially in the United States where the songs "Just Like Heaven", "Lovesong" and "Friday I'm in Love" entered the Billboard Hot 100 charts. By the start of the 1990s, The Cure were one of the most popular alternative rock bands in the world, and although their profile has lessened in more recent years, they are estimated to have sold 27 million albums as of 2004.[1] The Cure have released thirteen studio albums and over thirty singles during the course of their career.
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me is the seventh studio album by British alternative rock band The Cure. Released in 1987, this album helped put The Cure into the American mainstream, becoming their first album to reach the Billboard Top 40.
It was originally a double album, and was also released on a single CD. One track, "Hey You!", had to be removed from the original CD release, due to time restrictions on the CD format at the time (approximately 74 minutes).
This is the last album supposedly featuring founding member
Lol Tolhurst in some small capacity. Robert Smith has stated that he wrote the song "Shiver and Shake" about Lol's diminishing role in the band.[1] Even though Lol is credited for playing other instruments on the next album, Disintegration, it has been officially stated that he did not contribute anything whatsoever. This is also the last studio album band member Porl Thompson played keyboards on; he plays guitar only on all subsequent studio releases. Special guest Andrew Brennan plays the saxophone on "Hey You!" and "Icing Sugar."
Kiss Me continues to dominate the bands live set, the 2008 "
4Tour" included performances of "The Kiss", "Torture", "Catch", "Why Can't I Be You?", "How Beautiful You Are", "Just Like Heaven", "Hot Hot Hot!!!", "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep", and "Shiver and Shake" at various shows.
The album was re-released in August 2006. The first disc finally features "Hey You!", which had been omitted from previous CD issues, and the second disc is composed of a demo or live version of each song on the first disc, including a recording of "Why Can't I Be You?" from the final show of the Kissing Tour at the Wembley Arena. It was released August 8, 2006 in the U.S. and August 14, 2006 in the UK.
Robert Smith stated on his website that there were so many missing tracks that he made three discs. One had the original album, one had demos of the B-Sides and never-before-heard tracks, and one had alternate-tracks of the songs from the album. Of course, he could only release one of the latter two. After discussing it with family and friends, he decided that the latter one was more qualified to be released. He said it wasn't impossible that the other disc may show up in a leak or another release.
The Cure's "How Beautiful You Are" is #7 on my playlist

"The Kiss" – 6:17
Catch" – 2:42
"Torture" – 4:13
"If Only Tonight We Could Sleep" – 4:50
Why Can't I Be You?" – 3:11
"How Beautiful You Are" – 5:10
"The Snakepit" – 6:56
"Hey You!" – 2:22
Just Like Heaven" – 3:30
"All I Want" – 5:18
Hot Hot Hot!!!" – 3:32
"One More Time" – 4:29
"Like Cockatoos" – 3:38
"Icing Sugar" – 3:48
"The Perfect Girl" – 2:34
"A Thousand Hours" – 3:21
"Shiver and Shake" – 3:26
"Fight" – 4:27
The track "Hey You!" was omitted from early CD pressings due to time constraints.
Have a great Friday everyone ~~ Brad

No comments: